Amira Hass lecture on Israeli Occupation, "The Israeli Policy of Separate Development"

Printer-friendly versionSend to friend
11/16/2010 - 7:00pm
11/16/2010 - 9:00pm

Amira Hass is a distinguished reporter and columnist for Israel's most highly regarded daily newspaper, Haaretz. For two decades, she has reported on daily Palestinian life in the West Bank and Gaza Strip, the territories captured by Israel in the 1967 war.

According to the International Press Institute award committee:
"Observing Palestinian life from the eyes of the ordinary person in the street, Hass has provided readers in Israel and the rest of the world with a unique glimpse of the towns and refugee camps of Gaza and the West Bank. With single-minded determination and apparent disregard for the dangers she faces daily, she reports on evolving Palestinian self-government, growing alienation between the Palestinian people and its leadership and the activities of Hamas and other dissident groups. By informing the public, without whose support no peace is possible, her reporting contributes in a direct and meaningful way to the Israeli-Palestinian peace process."

Hass was born in 1956 in Jerusalem to Jewish immigrants who had survived the Nazi genocide. She is the first Israeli Jewish journalist to live in the Palestinian territories, residing in Gaza from 1993 to 1997 and in the West Bank since 1997. Her lively and conscientious reporting has provoked great interest and controversy. The Israeli military, the Palestinian Authority, and Hamas have all periodically criticized her reporting and monitored her activities.

Hass has also written two well-regarded books, Drinking the Sea at Gaza in 2000 and Reporting from Ramallah in 2003. She has received numerous awards. These include the UNESCO/Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom prize, the International Press Institute‘s Freedom Hero award, the Bruno Kreisky Human Rights award, the Anna Lindh Memorial Fund award, the Hrant Dink Memorial award, the Archivo Disarmo’s Golden Dove of Peace prize, and the Lifetime Achievement award from the International Women’s Media Foundation.